Available now in stores US nationwide, Australia & UK.

Order online:

itunes.com (online store)
Amazon.com (online store)
CD Baby (online store)
Order from Chris

Liner Notes:

A soulful vocalist with a soaring, sensuous quality, a sly, seasoned delivery and natural sense of swing, Chris McNulty imparts her own unique magic interpreting jazz standards, as she showcased so confidently on last year's “I Remember You” On Dance Delicioso, her followup and fifth album overall, the Australian-born singer showcases more of her own considerable songwriting prowess as well as having her way with Cole Porter's “All Of You,” Bobby Troup's “Meaning of the Blues”, Gene DePaul's“Star Eyes” and Annie Lennox's “Primitive.”

Backed by a crew of New York killers in guitarist Paul Bollenback, saxophonists Gary Bartz, Gary Thomas and Dave Pietro, pianists Mulgrew Miller, John DiMartino and David Budway, bassist Ugonna Okegwo and drummer Billy Hart, McNulty stakes out some Brazilian-flavored territory on her “New Day,” “Only The Silence” and the alluring title track. Her poignant “Farewell” is performed as an intimate duet with Bollenback on acoustic guitar while she reveals some daring scat abandon on the modal romp “Roamin”. And for a real change of pace, she affects a lush, chamber-like aesthetic on the Celtic-flavored “He Moves Through The Fair.”

McNulty distinguishes herself as one of the elite jazz singers on the scene with this tasty, varied program.

Bill Milkowski

1. Primitive
1a. Primitive (additional sample)
2. New Day
3. He Moved Through the Fair
4. All of You
5. Meaning of the Blues
6. Dance Delicioso
7. Last Farewell
8. Roamin’
9. Star Eyes
10. Only the Silence
11. Last Farewell - reprise

Chris McNulty    voice
Paul Bollenback    guitars (except 4)
Gary Bartz    alto sax (2, 4 , 9, 10)
Mulgrew Miller    piano (4, 10, 11)
Sonny Barbato    accordion (5, 6)
Eric Friedlander    cello (3)
Ugonna Okegwo    acoustic bass
Billy Hart    drums (except for 3)
Cafe da Silva    percussion (1, 5, 6, 7); pandeira (5)
Gary Thomas    tenor saxophone (2, 6, 8)
John DiMartino    piano (1, 2, 6, 8)
Dave Pietro    soprano saxophone (2, 3, 7)
David Budway    piano (5, 6, 9)
Joel Frahm    saxaphones
Café da Silva    percussion

© 2005 Elefant Dreams; ELefant Dreams Records 2005.
All rights reserved.
Unauthorized duplication is a violation of applicable laws.

Recorded at Clinton Studios, NYC (Nov. 23-24, 2004) | Engineered by Dave Darlington
Mixed by Dave Darlington & Robert Sadin, Bass Hit Recording (Dec. 4-5, 2004) & Sony Studios (Dec. 22, 2004).
Mastered by Mark Wildner, Sony Music Studios (Jan. 4, 2005)
Production Assistant: Caroline Chapman Beck | Costume-wardrobe: Jane Wilson Marquis
Graphic Design: Alamini Design, NYC | Photography: Char Smullyan and Seichi
Lighting: Arnold Brown

Many thanks to Paul Bollenback. To the wonderful musicians and singers who contributed their unique and extraordinary talents to this project. Special thanks to Mulgrew Miller and Gary Bartz for so much inspiration over the years. Eave Darlington and Bob Sadin, Char, Dan Smullyan, Jane Wilson Marquis, Thank you to the McNulty family. Extra special thanks to Mr. and Mrs. B, without whom this project would not have been possible.

This music is dedicated to all who have lost their lives to the ravages of war.